How do you grow pepper seeds?

The typical seeds from a grocery store bell pepper aren't likely to sprout, and if they do they probably won't produce fruit like the one you collected the seeds from. ... Open-pollinated, garden grown peppers usually produce viable seed true to the parent plant.