What makes something magnetic?

Magnets have poles. Opposite poles attract each other, but same poles repel each other. When you rub a piece of iron along a magnet, north-seeking poles of atoms in iron line up in the same direction. Force generated by aligned atoms creates a magnetic field. The iron has become a magnet. PerNatGeo