What are the ingredients in escargot?

Escargot is French for snail. So if you order escargots is a restaurant, you will get cooked snails., usually with a garlic butter sauce Usually served in the shell with a special clamp to hold it, escargots provided an amusing scene in the movie Pretty Woman.