Why do humans have toenails and fingernails?

Fingernails & toenails prevent viruses and bacteria from entering the body. Fingernails make the fingertips one of the strongest parts of the hand, so that everyday tasks such as picking things up are less risky. Toenails serve mainly as protection, and make the toes much less vulnerable to injury.