What's a ghost detector?

A ghost detector is typically a Gauss meter or magnetometer use by so called "ghost hunters", whether true believers or scam artists, to detect the presence of ghosts. What is actually being measured is the strength of the magnetic field which is naturally present, and naturally varies.