What does aerial mean a. r. e. a. l.?

The word “areal” refers to an area, which is an expanse of space or a region of land. Not to be confused with “aerial” which means of or relating to the air. If a view existed from the air of a large expanse of land, it would be an aerial areal view; in other words a view of the area from the air.