What does the name payen mean?

The name Payen is from the Old French personal name Pagen Paien from Latin Paganus from paganus 'country-dweller' a derivative of pagus 'of or relating to the countryside' possibly given to a child not yet baptized (because of its later sense of 'pagan heathen').