How do you preserve a jack o' lantern?

Cut the hole on the bottom of the pumpkin & remove. This allows moisture to escape rather than pool at the bottom of the pumpkin, which accelerates the rotting process. Spray interior with solution of one tablespoon bleach per quart of water to kill off bacteria that can lead to rot.

---

Fill a spray bottle with a solution of one tablespoon bleach per quart of water. Spray interior and cut surfaces liberally, allowing it to penetrate and dry. This formula is said to kill off surface bacteria and mold that can lead to rot.