How do you go on spectator mode in minecraft?

Can you go into spectator mode in Minecraft Java? Spectator mode can be enabled by using the command /gamemode spectator or after player's death in Hardcore mode on a multiplayer game or server. In the Java Edition of Minecraft, as of update 1.12, it is also accessible by holding F3 (default) and N.