Is pepperoni italian?

Pepperoni, an Italian-American creation, is a cured dry sausage, with similarities to the spicy salamis of southern Italy, such as salsiccia Napoletana piccante, a spicy dry sausage from Naples, or the soppressata from Calabria.

---

Yes it is. It comes from Italian name for bell pepper.