What is the most common language in india?

Hindi is the most spoken language in India. It is also one of the country's official languages. Hindi is also the fourth most spoken language in the world.

---

Hindi is the most widely spoken language predominantly in the northern parts of India. India's central government has 23 constitutionally recognized official languages with Hindi and English typically used as an official language by the central government.