Where does seaweed come from?

Seaweed or sea vegetables are forms of algae that grow in the sea. They're a food source for ocean life and range in color from red to green to brown to black. Seaweed grows along rocky shorelines around the world, but it's most commonly eaten in Asian countries such as Japan, Korea and China.