How many bees are in the united states?

According to the USDA, during 2018, honey bee colony counts ranged from 2.64 million to 2.87 million colonies, with losses of more than 41% experienced across just three quarters. The increase was due to human assistance either by splitting existing hives, or creating new ones from imported bees.