Can spiders starve?

An average spider may only last 4-8 weeks without food, & about 3 weeks without water; meaning spiders can go longer without food than without water. The average lifespan of a spider living in the wild is about 3 yrs.. However, in captivity the spiders could live longer for more than 20 years.