When did m. t. v. go on the air?

MTV was launched on Saturday, August 1, 1981, at 12:01 AM Eastern Time, with the words "Ladies and gentlemen, rock and roll," spoken by John Lack, and played over footage of the first Space Shuttle launch countdown of Columbia (which took place earlier that year) and of the launch of Apollo 11.