Who is gregory the thirteenth?

Pope Gregory the Thirteenth, born Ugo Boncompagni, was pope of the Roman Catholic Church from 1572 to 1585. He was a reformer who took up the recommendations of the Council of Trent, and commissioned the Gregorian Calendar.