Who fought in the battle of shiloh?

The Battle of Shiloh was fought on April 7th, 1862. Two Union armies combined to defeat the Confederate Army of Mississippi. Major General Ulysses S. Grant was the Union commander, while General Albert Sidney Johnston was the Confederate commander.