What's the highest point on the richter scale?

Seismologists use the Richter scale to describe the wave amplitude or the amount of energy released during a seismic event. It is an open-ended scale so there is no "highest point." It is logarithmic, with each 0.2 of increase on the scale representing an approximate doubling of the energy released.