What's the difference between a. d. and b. c.?

A.D. is from a Latin phrase meaning "in the year of our Lord", and is used to label years in Julian and Gregorian calendars after the traditional year of the conception or birth of Jesus, a central figure in Christianity. B.C. or "before Christ" is used to label years prior, and there is no year 0.