What does retaining water mean?

Retaining water, is a reference to a process in the body, by which excess water is retained and not excreted in urine or sweat. Our kidneys and sweat glands are designed to keep our body's water content at about 60%. Some drugs, and environmental conditions, can cause us to keep too much water.