Where does gin come from?

Gin is usually made from a base of grain, such as wheat or barley, which is fermented and then distilled. Juniper berries and other herbs, plants and spices (botanicals) are added to the fermented grain mixture along with water until the alcohol level and balance of flavors meets the required levels