What is it mean to steep tea?

Steeping tea means to immerse tea leaves, either loose or in a tea bag, in hot water.

---

To steep tea means to prepare the tea by soaking the dry tea leaves in the hot water. The most common way is using the tea bag or tea infuser in case of loose tea.