Who invented fries?

The French and Belgians have an ongoing dispute about this, with both claiming ownership. Belgian journalist Jo Gérard claims that a 1781 family manuscript recounts that potatoes were deep-fried prior to 1680 in the Meuse valley. Thomas Jefferson had "potatoes served in the French manner" in 1802.