Can you take a vape on an airplane?

According to the TSA website, passengers are allowed to bring onto the plane electronic cigarettes and vaping devices, such as batteries, atomizers, only in their carry-on bags. However, passengers are not allowed to have any of these vape-related items in their checked bags due to safety measures.