How many people can one cow feed?

According to the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture Food and Forestry, a steer weighing 1,000 pounds on the hoof will average around 430 pounds of retail cuts. So, with one-half pound servings, this would feed 860 people (or 430 people with 1 pound servings).