What is the biggest spider in the world called?

With a leg span nearly a foot wide, the goliath bird-eater is the world's biggest spider. It has a special defense mechanism to keep predators from considering it as a meal. In a world where even the smallest spiders can provoke a fearful shriek, Theraphosa blondi takes scare tactics to a new level.

---

Tarantula