How do you get rid of a hornet's nest in the ground?

The best way to remove a hornet's nest is to wait until nightfall when the hornets are less active. Use a flashlight to locate the nest entrance. Cover the nest entrance with a coffee can or something similar to prevent the hornets escape. Then, use a garden hose to flood the nest with water.