Who is the first woman to ever run for president?

Victoria Woodhull, a leader of the women's suffrage movement, ran for President of the United States in the 1872 election. There is some debate about her candidacy as she was below the constitutionally mandated age of 35 years old. Election coverage of 1872 did not consider this to be an issue.