Where does the phrase brass tacks come from?

The origin of the phrase, "get down to brass tacks," are uncertain. Among the theories are Cockney rhyming slang for "basic facts"; early American shops where brass tacks were laid out for measuring cloth; or furniture, where reupholstering meant stripping to the tacks holding down the inner fabric.