What is the difference between dark brown sugar and light brown sugar?

The difference between light and dark brown sugar is simply the amount of molasses each contains. Light brown sugar has less molasses per total volume of sugar (about 3.5%) while dark brown sugar has more (6.5%).

---

Dark brown sugar contains more molasses than light brown sugar, giving it a darker color.