Is spinal stenosis hereditary?

According to the National Institutes of Health, Lumbar spinal stenosis is considered primarily a degenerative condition, but the current study demonstrates that it is also a highly genetic condition, and disc degeneration appears to be one pathway through which genes influence spinal stenosis.