What makes a fart stink?

Certain foods or medications can cause excessively smelly farts. Sometimes smelly farts can be an indicator of an underlying infection, digestive issues, or a disorder.

---

Foods with high sulfur composition, such as red meat, milk, or plant-based proteins, are the culprits of producing the foul odor. When we feed the bacteria in our gut high-protein foods, they produce a sulfur gas, which makes passing gas noxious

---

Farts contain sulfur dioxide, a very smelly chemical that gives a fart its smell.