Who is the greatest detective?

The greatest real detectives are probably Izzy Einstein & Moe Smith. In prohibition-era US, Einstein and Smith were federal police officers who achieved the greatest number of arrests and convictions between 1920–1925. In fiction, the greatest detective is Sherlock Holmes.

---

That's fairly subjective--people like some detectives for who they are, and for their skill, or they simply don't for the same reasons. Perhaps it would be Sherlock Holmes, who is fictional.