Why are there two three point lines in college basketball?

The 2019-20 season, men's Division I basketball will use the same distance for 3s as the one seen in FIBA competitions. The new 3-point distance is 22 feet and 1.75 inches from the center of the basket, meaning the line is being pushed back by more than 16 inches. Old and new lines are still present