Who is vlad the third?

More commonly known as Vlad Dracula, he was a fifteenth-century ruler of Wallachia, the historical principality now known as Romania. Due to his cruelty and the appearance of vampirism in Romanian folklore, he was also the inspiration for Bram Stoker's Dracula, published in 1857.