What's the difference between a tsunami and a typhoon?

A typhoon is essentially the same as a hurricane, but located in the Indian or western Pacific oceans. A tsunami is a large wave that is caused by an earthquake, landslide, or other disturbance. A large tsunami hit Sri Lanka in 2004, killing over 30,000 people.

---

A tsunami is a series of large waves, often caused by an underwater earth slide. A Typhoon is a tropical cyclone storm within the Western Pacific or North Indian Oceans.