How do you get salmonella poisoning?

Salmonella infection is a foodborne illness that occurs from consumption of raw meats and eggs, contaminated dairy foods such as unpasteurized (raw) milk, or fruits and vegetables contaminated by food handlers.

---

People commonly get infected with Salmonella by eating contaminated food, such as: Raw or undercooked meat and poultry products; Raw or undercooked eggs and egg products; Raw or unpasteurized milk and other dairy products; and. Raw fruits and vegetables.