What is a white belt in karate?

White Belt is typically the first rank of any martial art. White Belts are considered to be the beginner stage of Karate among many others.

---

A white belt indicates someone that has just started their martial art journey and are at the lowest level possible. A few schools make you earn a white belt, but most just give it to you with the first uniform.