What's a good substitute for liquid smoke?

Here are some substitutes for liquid smoke: use 1/2 TSP of smoked paprika or chipotle powder instead of 1 TSP liquid smoke, sprinkle the dish with smoked salt - but remember to cut the regular salt when you do, & use either the liquid from a brewed cup of smoked tea or rub the leaves into your meat.