Do people eat sharks?

Its consumption by humans has been mentioned since 4 century AD literature. Several sharks are fished for human consumption, such as porbeagles, shortfin mako shark, requiem shark, and thresher shark, among others. Shark meat is popular in Asia, where it is often consumed dried, smoked, or salted​