How heavy is a basketball?

Size 7 basketballs measure 29.5 inches in circumference and have a standard weight of 22 ounces or 1.3 to 1.5 pounds. Size 7 basketballs are the standard ball size for most men's professional basketball associations, as well as men's college and high school basketball leagues.