Why do dogs chatter their teeth?

While many dogs chatter their teeth when they are smelling a urine spot, dogs may chatter at other times for other reasons. A common cause for teeth chattering is when a dog is anticipating something, such as a training session or play.

---

Teeth chattering is a sign of arousal. A dog chatters their teeth if they are very excited about something.