How do owls turn their heads all the way around?

Owls are more flexible than humans and are able to turn their heads 270 degrees because their head is only connected by one socket pivot. Humans have two, which limits our ability to twist. Their arterial system is also more flexible, allowing this movement without damaging the blood supply.