What are molasses made of?

To produce molasses, sugar cane is harvested and stripped of leaves. Juice is extracted, usually by cutting, crushing and mashing, then boiled to produce a concentrate and encourage sugar crystallization. The third boiling yields a dark viscous blackstrap molasses known for its robust flavor.