What is a nuclear fallout shelter?

In the 1950s and 1960s, there were public places designated with signs as nuclear fallout shelters, eg. Gyms, schools, where people were advised to go in case of a nuclear attack. There were also people who built shelters in their basements or excavated their yards to build a shelter.