When can babies start to see?

At birth an infant can detect light and motion, then can make out faces and large shapes. By the end of the first month, a baby can make eye contact and focus on objects about 30 cm (1 ft) away. By the time a baby is 3-4 months old, it can distinguish between colors and focus on smaller objects.

---

At birth an infant can detect light and motion, then can make out faces and large shapes. By the end of the first month, a baby can make eye contact and focus on objects about 12 inches away. By the time a baby is 3 to 4 months old, he can distinguish between colors and focus on smaller objects.

---

Babies can start distinguishing color at 3 months of age and can see clearly by 12 months of age.