Who gave us the liberty bell?

Speaker of the Pennsylvania Assembly Isaac Norris first ordered a bell for Independence Hall, in Philadelphia, in 1751 from the Whitechapel Foundry in London. That bell cracked on the first ring. Local metalworkers John Pass and John Stow melted down that bell and cast a new one in Philadelphia.