Why did japan fight in world war two?

With limited resources, a government dominated by the military, Japan invaded China in 1937, by 1941 the United States pressured Japan with sanctions, particularly an oil embargo; within a relatively short time Japan attacked U.S. and allied assets, military bases, including Indonesian oil fields.