What is a. o. three?

Archive of Our Own (AO3) is a nonprofit open source repository for fanfiction and other fanworks contributed by users. The site was created in 2008 by the Organization for Transformative Works. As of December 2020, Archive of Our Own hosted 7 million works in over 40,000 fandoms.