What is the meaning of the prefix pera?

That depends somewhat on the spelling. Spelled P-A-R-A-, para- means above, beyond, outside, or beside. Spelled P-E-R-I, peri- means about, around, or enclosing. Spelled P-A-R-I, pari- means equal.